Thursday, July 17, 2008

See the kid in that picture above? I wouldn't want him on the Sox any other way. I love players (especially pitchers) who are cocky. I think you kind of have to be that way to be successful. The Sox had this guy that played for them for awhile who was pretty cocky...Pedro Martinez, he did pretty well no? The NY media blew what paps said WAY OUT OF PROPORTION (big surprise I know). I don't want a closer on my team that doesn't think he's the best. The reporter asked him if he thinks he should close out the last AS game in Yankee stadium history. What did you except him to say exactly? "actually I'd rather not"? It's pretty much "common baseball knowledge" that Mariano Rivera is the best closer ever. Paps showed no disrespect to Mo. He called MO the "godfather of closers" for petes sake! Now NYY fans are all over Paps because he "disrespected" Mo. I know a lot of NYY fans who are great baseball people, who think that this was just a reporter looking for a good "headline". That being said, some NYY fans are just dumb as rocks. Every team has these fans though so its not uncommon. These NYY fans are just jealous that the Sox are on top now and they're $200mil team is in 3rd place. I was watching when Paps came in to pitch in the AS game on Tuesday night. He got booed pretty good. They also were chanting "overrated"...whatever, its par for the course when you have a Sox uni. on in Yankee stadium. These people also booed a 75 year old man when he was introduced in pregame festivities because he hit a HR v the Yanks 50 years ago...its pathetic. In closing, I want more players like Paps and Beckett on my teams. There's nothing wrong w/thinking that your the best at your position.

1 comment:

The Capt said...

If I was a Yanks fan I'd hate Paps too. I mean, the guy has filthy stuff and is a younger, improved version fo Mo'. I think the media did take alot of what he said and made it a big deal. How many highlights have been made in the past few years of just Paps? Not even the ones of him saving BIG games.Now compare that to Mariano and we'll see if Paps really is overrated.