Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Cállate la Boca!







If you're a million dollar athlete who is definetly going to be a HOFer, why would you want to leave the team that you're known for? Is there any loyalty in sports? Are athletes at home eating Spam out of their camping trailer because they don't make enough to feed themselves? I've never ran into a pro athlete at AJ Wright who's trying to figure out if he wants the fake Addidas for $13.29 or the orange/purple/Lime green striped 5XL Ecko shirt for $7.97!!!!

Which brings me to the question: Why are rich athletes pricks? This is something my primitve mind grasped when former Patriot Ty Law made the "gotta feed my family" quote. I was so upset at the comment I went out kicked a puppy, slammed an ice cream cone into a 8yr old's face, and drove too close to a Drivers ED kid on the highway while swerving. Yep. That mad. I understand that pro athletes get taxed from every state they play in because its considered an "Entertainment Tax". But if you're making $1 million, whats your take home? $750K? Ty Law makes enough money for me and my grandchildrens's grandchildren to take daily trips into Tijuana and pay for the really good hookers and coke. I also understand players should get money from sales/merchandise numbers.

A-Rod makes 250 million over 10 years or $25 million a year. The president only makes $400,000. I understand George Dubbya is a moron and doesn't deserve a dime but A-Rod makes 24,600,000 more than "The Decider". I know people can say "What? You saying you wouldn't take it if the teams were willing to shell it out for you?". Of course I would. But it shouldn't have to come to that. Sometimes its just way too much.


Like last season when the Yankees sold their souls to acquire Roger Clemons. According to CNNmoney Clemens cost the Yankees $26.1 million - his salary of $18.7 million plus a $7.5 million tax the team will pay MLB for exceeding a certain salary threshold, the so-called luxury tax. Assuming $1 million per start and Clemens pitch around 110 pitches per outing, that equates to about $9,100 per pitch thrown (or a couple months salary and/or swindling old ladies out of their fortunes with my charm/good looks!). I seriously do not understand rich people. I always thought if you own a great home, comfortable furniture, a dependable car, a trophy wife(Yes you Vanessa Bryant. You're mine!), and some money to last at least 3 family generations that you were set.

1 comment:

Narizon said...

This is just f'ing hilarious. Sports in general are starting to drain me.