Wednesday, July 30, 2008


It's time. It's time for one of the greatest hitters the game has ever seen to move on from Boston. Tomorrow, July 31st, is the MLB trade deadline. Will Manny be in a Sox uni. on Friday night? Probably. What's it say about this guy if no team wants him even though the guy is still a great player? Whatever happened to playing out your current contract before you start complaining about not having a new contract? I'm a life long Sox fan. To be quite honest, I'm done w/Manny. Manny Ramirez is dead to me. I was watching the game last night like I do every night. For the 1st time all year the team looked dead. No energy what-so-ever. Mike Lowell makes a HUGE error on a routine grounder..Mike Lowell!! The guy never makes errors. They were swinging at 1st pitches, that's not the Sox approach at the plate. This is the most patient team in the league. They almost got no-hit at home! You have to give the Angels pitcher credit....he pitched good. The Sox historically rock John Lackey..not last night. It wasn't just coincidence...this team is distracted. I hope Theo was watching, because it was quite obvious. The Manny thing is weighing on this team. Manny is right "enough is enough". He needs to go...

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Cállate la Boca!







If you're a million dollar athlete who is definetly going to be a HOFer, why would you want to leave the team that you're known for? Is there any loyalty in sports? Are athletes at home eating Spam out of their camping trailer because they don't make enough to feed themselves? I've never ran into a pro athlete at AJ Wright who's trying to figure out if he wants the fake Addidas for $13.29 or the orange/purple/Lime green striped 5XL Ecko shirt for $7.97!!!!

Which brings me to the question: Why are rich athletes pricks? This is something my primitve mind grasped when former Patriot Ty Law made the "gotta feed my family" quote. I was so upset at the comment I went out kicked a puppy, slammed an ice cream cone into a 8yr old's face, and drove too close to a Drivers ED kid on the highway while swerving. Yep. That mad. I understand that pro athletes get taxed from every state they play in because its considered an "Entertainment Tax". But if you're making $1 million, whats your take home? $750K? Ty Law makes enough money for me and my grandchildrens's grandchildren to take daily trips into Tijuana and pay for the really good hookers and coke. I also understand players should get money from sales/merchandise numbers.

A-Rod makes 250 million over 10 years or $25 million a year. The president only makes $400,000. I understand George Dubbya is a moron and doesn't deserve a dime but A-Rod makes 24,600,000 more than "The Decider". I know people can say "What? You saying you wouldn't take it if the teams were willing to shell it out for you?". Of course I would. But it shouldn't have to come to that. Sometimes its just way too much.


Like last season when the Yankees sold their souls to acquire Roger Clemons. According to CNNmoney Clemens cost the Yankees $26.1 million - his salary of $18.7 million plus a $7.5 million tax the team will pay MLB for exceeding a certain salary threshold, the so-called luxury tax. Assuming $1 million per start and Clemens pitch around 110 pitches per outing, that equates to about $9,100 per pitch thrown (or a couple months salary and/or swindling old ladies out of their fortunes with my charm/good looks!). I seriously do not understand rich people. I always thought if you own a great home, comfortable furniture, a dependable car, a trophy wife(Yes you Vanessa Bryant. You're mine!), and some money to last at least 3 family generations that you were set.

Thursday, July 24, 2008

Let's get it on!


Sox and Yanks renew the greatest rivalry in sports this weekend at Fenway. It will be most exhilarating!

Monday, July 21, 2008

Etymology: Study of....er, a Whale's Vagina

News articles in the past few days have mentioned the NFL's plans to break down more film for studying "Gang Signs" by players. After the death in 2007 of Denver Broncos cornerback Darrent Williams, who was gunned down by suspected gang members, the league has decided to take a firmer stance on such acts. When Celtics player Paul Pierce appeared to flash "a menacing gesture" at an Atlanta Haks during a game, it grabbed the attention of league commisioners from the NFL and MLB. NHL spokesman Frank Brown said Tuesday his league has "a general prohibition" against anything a dirty sailor would do or say at the docks at night.
Personally I think its dumb. What constitutes a gang symbol? There are plenty of hand gestures that closley resemble sign language used by deaf/mutes and, as seen here, hillbillies alike. I think they could do more productive things. Like preventing players from "Making it rain" at strip clubs, bringing guns to night clubs, and having your $50K chain snatched off your neck at a club.

Thursday, July 17, 2008

See the kid in that picture above? I wouldn't want him on the Sox any other way. I love players (especially pitchers) who are cocky. I think you kind of have to be that way to be successful. The Sox had this guy that played for them for awhile who was pretty cocky...Pedro Martinez, he did pretty well no? The NY media blew what paps said WAY OUT OF PROPORTION (big surprise I know). I don't want a closer on my team that doesn't think he's the best. The reporter asked him if he thinks he should close out the last AS game in Yankee stadium history. What did you except him to say exactly? "actually I'd rather not"? It's pretty much "common baseball knowledge" that Mariano Rivera is the best closer ever. Paps showed no disrespect to Mo. He called MO the "godfather of closers" for petes sake! Now NYY fans are all over Paps because he "disrespected" Mo. I know a lot of NYY fans who are great baseball people, who think that this was just a reporter looking for a good "headline". That being said, some NYY fans are just dumb as rocks. Every team has these fans though so its not uncommon. These NYY fans are just jealous that the Sox are on top now and they're $200mil team is in 3rd place. I was watching when Paps came in to pitch in the AS game on Tuesday night. He got booed pretty good. They also were chanting "overrated"...whatever, its par for the course when you have a Sox uni. on in Yankee stadium. These people also booed a 75 year old man when he was introduced in pregame festivities because he hit a HR v the Yanks 50 years ago...its pathetic. In closing, I want more players like Paps and Beckett on my teams. There's nothing wrong w/thinking that your the best at your position.

Sunday, July 13, 2008

Have mustache, will porn.



I'm sure this'll get mixed reviews but, I love Giambi's mustache. Hate the guy, love the stache. With alot of of Sox fans rooting for the Yanks to beat the Rays last week, I found myslef rooting for Giambi. Jason Giambi is bringing back what should've already been brought'n. Very stylish, yet powerful. Maybe if the rest of the Yanks grew sacks and a stache, they might see improvement. The stache used to be the "Established Player" look in the 80's. Now its unheard of. Like Johnny Damon going grizzly, I think Giambi going Stache is a great day in sports.Usually associated with firefighters, 70's porn, sexual predators, gay bikers, and Magnum PI, the Stache is back.......so I hope.








Capt.

Hate to see you go, Love to watch you leave.

Here we go again. Brett Favre wants back on the team. Honestly, I saw it coming. After the 4,000yrd season he had and leading the Packers to a 13-3 season. I think the whole world saw it coming. I understand its better to go out in flames then to fade away but, come on Brett. Green Bay had a huge parade, the "Goodbye Brett Towel" game, "Goodbye Brett $2 Beer Night", "Farewell Favre Free French Fries Night", and, of course the unforgettable, "Brett please don't tease us and say you're leaving only to comeback because we can't deal with this heartache Bobblehead night". If you're going to retire, stay retired. Go play golf or wittle wood in St Lucia. Stay home and rewatch your highlight dvd(all 168hrs of collected video clips with optional commentary done my John Madden). Right now there deciding what to do with him if he does come back. Aaron Rodgers has stepped up and started to take over the spotlight. He's been working with the 1st team WRs trying to establish timing. Favre has told the Packers front office to either play him or trade him. I think Brett is a little upset that Green Bay didn't sign Randy Moss. Imagine how much of a difference to that Moss would've been. I hate to see Brett comeback AGAIN after all the teary goodbyes. Its Bush League of him to demand to be put back into the roster after the Packers drafted two QBs and have Rodgers calling the shots. If I'm Aaron Rodgers, I'd leave my charity golf event, head down to Brett's place, and Tanya Harding his legs.

Favre would break a plethora of hearts if he left Breen Bay to another city. Kind of like Joe Montana leaving San Fran for KC. Just kind of cheapened his career. He still posted solid numbers in his last year(3282yds passing, 16TDs), but he should've stopped at San Fran.If the Packers do decided to let Brett become a free agent, what team would I like to see him play for? I'd say:

Atlanta Falcons: Vick screwed that whole franchise over, Joey Harrington has been awful to watch, and no RB has proven to be a consistent threat. This team could use someone like Brett to bring the fans back to games.

Miami Dolphins: Bill Parcells with Brett Favre would make many AFC teams cringe with fear. Since the Tuna has cleaned house, there should be plenty of room for salary. Miami has nobody at the QB helm. I guess we could watch Josh McCown this season. But then again I'd rather watch a TV series on Fox starring a Tijuana hooker getting chinese finger cuffed by a new pair of well endowed burros a week.

Minnesota Vikings: Tavaris Jackson had sparks of talent, Brooks Bollinger doesn't have the shoulders to carry the team, and John David Booty MIGHT be a bust. With Favre on that team, he could actually make them serious threat. A powerhouse running game from AP and a solid Team Defense could make the two Green Bay vs Minnesota games very intersting. You'd see the Cheese Headed Packers fans and Helga Hat wearing Vikes pillaging and plundering the home teams city, turning over police vehicles, and burning any home with the another teams flag billowing on the front lawn that crisp sunday morning. Ah, sports rivalries.












Was Brett wrong for retiring? Of course.
Should Brett stay retired? Yes.
Should Brett go to another team? No.
Would It be interesting if he did? Very.
What should Bret do during his retirement? Porn.

Hate to see you go,
Love to watch you leave.

Capt.

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

Bring Bonds To The Bean



Before I start to write about MY BOY Barry Bonds, let me first say that I only want him in Boston if Big Papi is out of the year...
That being said, I want a show of hands of the people that hate Barry Bonds... Good... Now explain to me why you hate Barry Bonds... Is it because he broke the home run record? Is it because he juiced up in a time where most power hitters and pitchers were juicing and with that he broke the home run record? Is it because as a human, he's a P.O.S. because he's racist against white folks and he's a bad husband? Or maybe it's because he treated the media bad and didn't give them the time or respect the media feels they deserve? Maybe it's because he never really connected with any fans other than the Giants fans so people view him as an arrogant S.O.B.? Wait!!! I know... It's because some of his teammates didn't like him...

If any of those reasons connect with you, please raise your hand... Now ask yourself 2 questions. 1. Do I feel the same way about Barry Bonds as I do about Rodney Harrison? 2. Am I asking BB over my house to meet my child(ren), mother, wife, start a church, head the PTA, or even walk my dog? No... You're asking him to hit the cover off the ball to right. He can do that. I don't want to hear about he cheated because BB cheated too and we love him as our coach for the Pats. So didn't Rodney by taking HGH and maybe more but if he's killing WR trying to cross over the middle, we will turn the other cheek... If Barry Bonds comes to fenway and starts knocking the ball out of the park, Boston fans will love him and cheer him and want to re-sign him for next year. We cannot blame one person for a whole era especially when this person didn't start juicing until he saw people that were not as good as he was getting all the awards and acknowledgement. We also know now that pitchers used steriods as well. Even the Clemens used Roids and he's considered arguably the greatest pitcher of all time.


All I'm saying is, if you want to win another world series and Ortiz isn't going to be part of your team and you can bring someone that can fill in his spot as a hitter like, oh I don't know, the greatest hitter of all time. You do it. It's a no brianer. People in this area didn't like Moss or Dillon before they got here and ask them now what they think of them... Same thing will happen with Bonds...

The AntiChrist


If there is a god, this won't happen. I don't want either of the guys in that picture anywhere near Fenway Park. Can you imagine Barry Bonds in a Sox uniform?? Just writing it makes me feel like this http://www.ghostofthefuture.com/images/LardAss/lardass-05.jpg. I don't think I could watch the Sox anymore....this guy really is the antichrist. Peter Gammons reported that the Sox have had internal discussions about Bonds just in case Papi's wrist doesn't respond well. He would tear that clubhouse apart...why would the Sox even consider this? I don't think I've hated an athlete more in my lifetime than this piece of crap. I've hated him for years before all the steroid stuff. I highly recommend reading the book "Game of Shadows". I actually read the entire book on a flight form Boston to Italy in '06. The information in that book is just incredible. The two guys who wrote the book, investigated Bonds for two years. They were actually subpoenaed by the federal gov't because in the book they had Bond's grand jury testimony where he admitted to using steroids. The reporters were told that if they didn't disclose how they got this info. they would go to prison for 2 years. They refused. Later the person who leaked the info. came forward..he's currently in prison. The book paints a picture of Bonds being a drug-addict, racist & womanizer. He started doing steroids after being jealous of Sosa & McGwire after the '98 season.(now, don't even get me started on MLB as a whole during the "steroid era"..they pretty much just let it happen.) Let's focus on Bonds because I despise him so. Bonds, as we know, went on to break the greatest record in the history of American sports....while on steroids. I do not want this POS of a man on my baseball team! I plead to you Mr.. Theo Epstein...no Bonds for me please thank you.

Saturday, July 5, 2008

"You're the best, AROUND"


I'm a self proclaimed movie expert. I also have a fair knowledge off all sports of all kinds. Mix the two together and you have something better than a Pomegranate Mojito on a warm summer morning. Debates have been flying for years as to what belongs in the "Top 10 Sports Movies of All Time" list. First off: Whats condiered a sport? If martial arts is considered a sport, wouldn't the Karate Kid be placed in there? If card playing is considered a sport, wouldn't movies such as "Rounders" or "The Cincinnati Kid" be in there? What about billiards? If thats considered a sport wouldn't "The Hustler" or "The Color of Money" be in there? Although great movies, I'm going to stick with Hockey, Baseball, Football, and Basketball for my Top Ten. I know some of you are saying "Hey Capt, didn't you wrestle? Why aren't considering that as a top sport?". Simple. There has been only one real movie about wrestling, "Vison Quest". A 1985 movie starring a young Linda Florentino and Matthew Modine. Unfortunately I cannot consider this movie seeing how I can't see matthew Modine capable of beating anyone until 1987's "Full Metal Jacket". So, here is my "Top Ten Sports Flicks":
10) Caddy Shack(1980) Greatest golf movie ever(and if you say the sequel is better, go ahead and swallow a gallon of lither fluid and a waterproof match dirtbag)
9) The Bad News Bears (1976) I personally like this movie because the kids here are portayed as a bunch of bad asses who do things that weren't acceptable back in the 70's, but are commonplace now. Little bastards.
8) Rudy (1993) This movie proves that even Hobbit Samwise Gamgee can play football at Notre Dame. Giving hope to all undersized, unathletic, Sean Astins to populate the current Notre Dame team.

7) Remember the Titans(2000) We all know Denzel never does a serious movie. Which is why I was surprised he didn't smile this whole film. This is a great movie showing the race wars from back in the day. Every high school football player that went to "(2-3) A-Days(now illegal due to soft kids and even softer parents)" felt the pain of those players while watching them get run down.

6) Hoop Dreams(1994) A glimpse into how hard it really is to become a great high school baller and getting a shot at the college level. Obstacles such as parents with drug addiction, family poverty, and inner-city violence, and physical injuries try and slow their dreams of making to the next level.

5) Hoosiers(1986) "I'll make it".


4) The Natural(1984) Future superstar baseball player disappears only to reappear many moons later to become a local legend. Who didn't want a wooden bat with "Wonder Boy" on it?

3) Bull Durham(1988) I just like this movie because of the bar scene with Tim Robbins looking like a moron.

2) Raging Bull(1980) Deniro training with Jake Lamotta for this film shows dedication. Ups and downs of a boxer who took out his personal problems out in the ring on his opponents.

1) Rocky1,2,3,4(I consider 1-4 as one movie) If you have never seen this movie then you're a Communist-Nazi and need to be shot repeatedly with roman candles until you are patriotic enough to live here. I think every immigrant seeking to be a citizen here needs to WATCH this.


Movies that were close:

-White Men Can't Jump: Wes and Woody make this comedy a great watch. The banter back and forth and their quest for street court superiority is entertaining.
-Field Of Dreams: YES, its a great movie, YES, it has great acting from James Earl Jones(expected), YES, we all wish we could make a cornfield into a ball park and watch the old time greats(minus blacks, hispanics, asians, jews, arabs, and eskimos) play ball in retro uni's. Fact is......there's no season or game or title or championship to be won. Just Costner going bankrupt and clearing out his daddy issues watching ghost.

-Jerry Maguire: Great job by Cuba in this one but its too much of a chick flick to be considered a sports movie.
I hope you peeps can enjoy this. Sorry Johnny 5, I couldn't include "To Wong Foo" in this list. Now put away that skin suit you're tailoring, stop prancing in front of a mirror with your junk tucked back while playing to Q Lazzarus's "Goodbye Horses", and stop playing with Precious.
Capt.

Thursday, July 3, 2008

Current Sox Play

The Sox have been quite inconsistant as of late. Kind of how a month ago you would see the large majority of the Tampa Stands filled with members of Red Sox Nation. Now that Da Rays have proved to be a team worthy of note they has discovred that there is actually a team in Tampa-St Petes area to root for. I do like the way this divisional match up is taking on the face of a rivalry. The Yankees are old and they suck. So having two young teams fight over first in the AL east is great. JD Drew should be on the All Star Team. This guy has now shown why he was brought here. It started in the play offs and has carried into this season. Dustin plays huge and will also be an all star. Manny needs Ortiz back. He needs that protection in the line up. It also seems to me that Manny hits better when he is in left field. This DH thing is not for him yet. It is crazy to think that the Sox have 15 guys on the active roster all under the age of 28 and of 15 how many are pitchers----- Dice K, Beckett, Lester, Masterson, ManNy D, Pap, Pssibly Hanson- then you throw Clay in the mix--- Good times