Friday, June 20, 2008
Schilling....
I guess all good things have to come to an end. Curt Schilling announced today that he will need season ending surgery on his arm. He also indicated that his career may be over. I'll never forget when the Sox signed him on thanksgiving '03. I was crazy excited. All I could think about was having Pedro & Schill 1-2 in the rotation. No other team could claim they had two aces in their starting rotation. His ’04 season in the bean was great. He won 21 games and finished 2nd in the CY Young vote. We all know what he did in the playoffs that year. The question now is if he is done, is Curt Schilling a Hall of Famer? My personal feeling is that I think he will get in. Not on the first ballot, but definitely eventually he will. He was a great big game pitcher. What he did in the post season through out his career should be enough to get him in the hall. I have to admit I wasn’t always the biggest Schilling fan. If he played for any other team, I would probably hate him. He has an opinion on everything…even if you’re not asking for it. He also can be very arrogant. The Schilling on the field you have to respect however. So, if this is the end Mr. Schilling, I want to thank you for helping all us Sox fans get that monkey off our backs in ’04. The #38 jersey probably won’t be worn again for awhile. Not sure if it will get retired, but it will definitely be out of commission for awhile like: Rice’s #14, Nomar’s #5, Pedro’s #45 (which by the way will most certainly get retired, but that’s another blog for another day).
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
Schill said earlier today that he might not return to baseball after this season. I think he should retire as a Sox player while people still remember "the bloody sock". Boston has turned to a solid pitching crew of youngters. Jon Lester has allowed three runs or less in each of his last 10 starts going 5-1 with a 2.09 ERA. I'm gonna say that looks very promising. Lester has told the press that he's pitching less balls and is finally starting to throw the pitches that he wants at will. He's been showing great command of his throws on the mound. And why do we still have Timlin? The Sox could be up by 6 in the 8th and Timlin will find a reason for them to bring out Paps or OK. can't he retire with Schill? Why hasn't NESN offered Timlin his own hunting show? At least that way when I watch him, I don't throw up in my mouth. I just might watch him more if he did get his own hunting show. That way I don't have to turn to a different channel while waiting for Paps to come out to save the day. Is Masterson in the rotation permanately yet? Or is Tito gonna let him marinate with the Paw SOx for awhile? Overall the Sox lineup on the mound is solid.
the question isnt what he retires as its what he goes in as if he goes to the hof, d-back, sox, or phillies. i say phillies and he will go
He is a pain in the ass. He will try and run for office. -
Post a Comment