Monday, June 23, 2008

The Banwagon Fans....

In my opinion these people are giving us "hardcore" Sox fans a bad name. Now when people see you wearing a Sox hat you get that "of course you’re a Sox fan" look. Recently the "4 letter website/network" had a story about which teams had the most bandwagon fans. Research showed that the Sox had the most bandwagoners. I was disgusted. I was disgusted because I actually think it's true! Here's a classic example....true story. I'm not sure of the date. I want to say it was Thursday October 21, 2004. The night before the Sox had just beaten the NYY in game 7 after being down 0-3 in the series. I was at work, in the men’s room washing my hands when a fellow co-worker walked in. Here's our conversation:

Loser: How 'bout 'dem Sox huh?

Me: I know huh? We finally get a chance at the WS. I hope the Sox can come through and finally exercise some demons.

Loser: Oh I don't even care about the WS. All I cared about was beating those F'ing NYY. I hate them more than anything.

Me: How could you not care about the WS?? This is what it’s all about. Don't you want those "1918" chants to go away? If we don't win the WS, the win against the Yanks means nothing.

Loser: Nah. As long as we beat the Yanks, I'm good.

Now at this point, I'm fuming. You guys ever see that Jim Carrey movie "Cable Guy"? That scene in the bathroom where he's beating up Cary Elwes? Well let me just say........that did not happen here. I wanted to though.
Anyways, that’s a clear definition of a bandwagon fan. To this day, whenever I see that guy at work wearing his Sox paraphernalia I think of the conversation we had on October 21, 2004...and then I throw-up in my mouth a bit.

4 comments:

seven said...

that was owen wilson

Narizon said...

you're right! Cary Elwes was in "Liar, Liar"

Goose said...

I would have to agree with the ESPN story... When you go to a game, there are more pink hats and jerseys than there are men. Winning breeds bandwagon fans. I guess its the curse that comes with winning. I personally would rather see my team win and get bandwagon fans than to watch them sell all their talent year after year. (for everyone new to the blog, I cheer for a lower market team based somewhere in the midwest) On a side note, can real fans even afford to go to a Red Soxs game anymore? Thank god for HD and 50 inch plasmas.

Narizon said...

Goose I agree with what you say. Most Sox fans have been priced out of Fenway. I also, give props. to teams like your Twins and others like the Rays, D-backs, Indians, A's. All teams in smaller markets that keep competitive w/out HUGE payrolls. I think the best example though are the Marlins. I think they have the blueprint. They traded a ton of talent, but received plenty back in return. That trade they pulled off w/Detroit was great. Sure they gave up Willis & Miggy, but they got Andrew Miller (future ace) and the CF (who's name escapes me) he's in AAA tearing it up. I like how baseball has promoted the draft in the last couple of years. If they could make it like the NFL, that could be huge for the sport.